LUX LUCET IN TENEBRIS

It seemed such a good idea to have an early appointment with the physiotherapist - that is until my alarm went off at 6.30 a.m. today and then it seemed as if I had never been to sleep! Being retired, we I am not used to getting up that early - although Mr. HCB is often up and about long before me and despite saying I would go to bed early last night, it just didn’t happen.

However, I dragged myself out of bed, and we were ready to go by 7.30 so off we went. I hadn’t realised how dark it was at that time of the morning - and nor had I realised, or had forgotten, just how many people are about at that time, most of them probably off to work.

Many of the houses on our way to the hospital had wonderful lights to cheer those passing by on a cold and wintry morning and to remind us that Christmas is almost here. For most people, Christmas is a happy time, and especially if they have young children in the family, but for some it is a sad time - if they have had a year of unpleasant or traumatic experiences, then they just want the year to end and the New Year to begin.

As Christians, we believe that Jesus is the light that shines in the darkness, and that whatever experiences we go through, that light can never be put out.

We had had a lot of rain overnight and I took lots of photographs with my “proper” camera and quite liked this one, which reminded me of the verses often read in Carol Services at this time of year from the 1st chapter of the Gospel written by John:

The light shines in the darkness,
and the darkness can never extinguish it.
John 1:5
New Living Translation


This song is new to me, but fits in well with today’s blip "Love's Pure Light".

P.S. The title today is in Latin and means “the Light shines in the darkness”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.