LauraH

By LauraH

My Mum Maureen Mo

Before my diagnosis I spoke with Mum once a week using Skype which was pretty good considering it is free and you can see each other, but it has it's limitations. The day I told mum about my cancer, my brother Chris visited and we used FaceTime on his ipad to talk again. Realised instantly that this was the way to go, Chris went with her to buy an ipad that week, and we haven't looked back.

Anyone would think I am a sales rep for FaceTime, but it is sooooooo much better than skypeing. It is portable, so mum can talk to me wherever she likes. We don't have to make an appointment to talk to each other, as we can just call, the ipad is right next to her, she hears it and picks up. The video and audio quality are really sharp and it doesn't drop out. We now talk pretty much every day, and this really helps her to feel part of what is going on for me.

The other news is we got a call to go into town to see the oncologist about starting the drug treatment we have been waiting for. Went into town, saw the doc, had a medical check which was all fine, and I took my first dose this evening. So, Adrian's jumping up and down yesterday paid off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.