madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

If you go down to the woods..

Took Kess to Denham Woods today - a place I used to take my dog and my parents many times ( before a pub lunch!) Always loved this place but today was well and truly spooked by it. I often get spooked in woods, something about the shadows, the decaying undergrowth with its smell of wet decomposition, the looming presence of the trees, even when they have fallen their monumental root system casts a shadow.
Today I felt all this and then some!
The track down had been barred with a metal post so I had to park at the top and walk down. There were no other cars there and its not a place you can walk to as it is in the middle of countryside. So I was all alone apart from Kess - who I swear would invite an attacker to play ball with him!
I had an immense sense of foreboding and fear - my heart was pumping and I felt near to a panic attack - too much caffeine with espressos and too little fluid I thought - so swigged on my water bottle and kept going. When I spotted a striking view I stopped and photographed it and this kept me grounded and diverted my attention away from my nerves so instead of turning round and walking back on I went.
The part that always slightly spooks me even when the rest doesn't eventually came - welcome because it marks the ascent up, but dreaded as it is a little chasm like walk uphill. Imagine my utter horror when I came upon this tree barring the path! I swear I nearly cried. It even stopped Kess in his tracks and he only ventured over itwhen I did! After this the urge to go to the toilet became overwhelming, I had been battling with it the last 30 minutes, I found a spot and undid my trousers but then just couldn't - even though I'd seen no one I just couldn't! So on I went.
On reaching the broad track above I felt immense relief - particularly as I came back into mobile signal! So sent a few texts to my friend in hospital. However this relief extended to my bowels and spotting another upturned tree squatted in the shelter of its roots now open to the air as Kess dropped his ball at my feet!!
However this seemed to settle my mood and I carried on with a lighter frame of mind and admired the views fully as the end was nigh to my adrenalin fuelled walk!
I have come to the obvious conclusion that my tummy upset is nowhere near settled and is playing havoc on me physically and mentally! If it does not settle by monday I may well go to the Dr's - in whom I have no faith!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.