madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

One Swan A-Swimming!

Out for an early morning 9 am walk with lovely Nellie of the woods. As we wandered along by the river we bumped into friends cleaning the drains blocked with leaves outside their house and got chatting - they had recently returned from 5 weeks in France. He like me has recently retired and with both children now at University are free to travel! They went in their camper van, staying at local produce makers It all sounded wonderful and their Facebook photos had been making me green with envy and increasing my appetite as it was!
They invited us in for coffee and we decided this would be lovely so in we went! They had mince pies and Christmas cake - I had a banana to help settle my tummy! I just love their Pulley Maid above the wood burner and I thought this was my blip! At 11 we went on our way! We walked up to Cotehele and back down and parted in the woods. I spotted the Maine Coon cat supervising their owners pruning and made a quick stop at a house in the village having a clearance sale of the things the woman used to sell at markets. two pairs of vintage earrings, necklace and bag of seed beads later Kess and I made the ascent up the hill home!
Once I looked at everything I had taken and played with the chosen few, I finally decided the Bridge had to be it once more. It symbolises Calstock and I love everything about living here - the friends, the spontaneous, serendipitous occurrences, the quirkiness of the place and the landscape. I never get apprehensive in the woods here!

P.S. Thanks for nudging my blip of the 12th into the Spotlight briefly! Ended what had otherwise been a non too pleasant day into a very happy ending !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.