Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Poppies for Peace

This morning Carys made her First Reconciliation (Confession to most of my generation). It was a lovely low key service. Basically the kids chatted to a priest face to face, not in a box like in my day. Both priests are very approachable and not scary, unlike in my day. Carys came back with a smile, gave me a hug and said she felt better. One of the catechists came and chatted to her before she went up. Made sure she knew what she was going to do and say and then told her how much she loved her shoes and how beautiful she looked. I was so glad she was wearing a skirt as a lot of the kids (and adults) were wearing jeans. I often wear jeans on a Sunday but for a sacrament I thought more people would have been smarter, despite it being low key.

After lunch we walked Carys to Queen Mother Theatre to see Peter Pan with Brownies. Will and I then went to the Christmas Tree Festival. We saw some lovely trees but we both (not at all biased here) liked ours the best! Will even found his own hama bead poppy although I didn't believe him until I looked at the back!

We wandered round town, picked up the decorations we painted in Pots of Art in St. Albans before Center Parcs a few weeks ago, dropped books back at the library (no need to go there again for a while after Christmas) and had coffee before collecting the Min from a 'Brilliant' Peter Pan and home for tea.

Back in town tomorrow for Gala Day. School choir is singing at 12.30. After watching the choir for the last few years Carys is finally in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.