Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Christmas Gathering

Dear Diary,

We cousins gather each year to celebrate Christmas and memories. We held this years gathering to honor two friends who passed away recently and who loved joining in the fun each year. We miss them very much.

My cousin collects these carolers and she has them through out the house. Most are named for family members and friends. I chose to photograph these on the mantle because they are standing in front of a very special memory for me. My dad sent this painting back to his sister, my dearest auntie, when he was in Europe during the war. It always hung over the piano in her living room and I would sit on the bench and stare at it. Somehow it entranced me.

I don't know where the location is but the Russian orthodox church seems to indicate central Europe where he was near the end of the war. After Christmas, I will make a good photograph of it and have it printed on canvas so I can have a smaller version of it at my house. It ties my auntie and dad together and reminds me of the countless wonderful hours I spent at auntie's house through the years.

Christmas is the day that holds all time together.

Alexander Smith

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.