Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Day in Cambridge

Dear Diary,

A dear friend and I spent a day in Cambridge, MA. I was finally able to see the Thoreau's Maine Woods exhibit by Scot Miller. This wonderful photographer retraced Thoreau's three trips through Maine's wilderness in the mid-1800's. Thoreau's book, The Maine Woods, wasn't published until after his death in 1864. It has always been a favorite of mine and it was wonderful to see some of the locations Thoreau speaks of in the book.

It was a small exhibit but the photographs were stunning. We spend sometime breathing in the beauty of the Maine wilderness before going to our next museum...the new Harvard Art Museums complex which combines the Fogg Art Museum, the Busch-Reisinger and the Arther Sackler Museums under one roof.

When I attended Harvard back in 1978-1979, I took some courses at the Fogg. Most of my classes were on the other side of the yard and I remember having to sprint across campus to get to my class on time. No sprinting today! The weather was beautiful and we spent several leisurely hours walking through the new galleries.

It was wonderful to be back "on campus". I spent a good deal of time photographing the lovely light and reflections in the museum complex. It was both a trip down memory lane and a whole new experience as well...the best of both worlds I think!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.