Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Beaver Lodge

Dear Diary,

This beaver pond is not too far from my home. It has two very large lodges. Sometimes I see beaver swimming but not today. They are probably safely tucked inside. You can't get very close to the pond and it is well sheltered with trees but I wanted to get a photograph.

I watched a special on beavers recently and they are such amazing creatures. Of course I knew of their engineering skills but I was surprised to find out that they will share their lodges in the winter with other species...muskrats especially. They will even let them share their food! Nature's innkeepers!

Osprey will build nests in the tall trees in the pond and moose and deer come to drink. It is a real wildlife refuge. I try to stop from time to time to see what's happening there...this day it was quite quiet at the "inn".


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.