WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

M is for Mystery

... and N is for Noir, so with a bit of cheating this will cover two days of the Christmas ABC challenge. I was doing quite well with it up till now, but as so often it all fell apart on choir practice weekend because I just didn't have time to take photos. I didn't even take my camera out of my bag till after I got home this evening.

The good: we learned some lovely Latvian folk songs, and also sang Stanford's The Blue Bird. And with a new rehearsal venue, lunch today was excellent moules-frites in the fishmonger's in Trèbes. The fishmonger has opened a restaurant a couple of doors down from the shop, so he just fetches fish from the shop and cooks it on the spot. It couldn't be fresher, and the chips were ace too. We'll be back!

The bad: you wouldn't think the same person who wrote The Blue Bird could also have composed the terribly irritating Corydon Arise, now rechristened Croydon Arise. It sounds quite sweet in the version I linked to, but that's because you can't hear the twee words (think nymphs and shepherds). And when I got home this evening, I found that the website upgrade I mentioned the other day had gone slightly wrong and required lots of delicate fiddling to make it usable again. After a couple of hours I was finally able to reward myself with a glass of red and an emergency blip, followed by some therapeutic bread making. Time for bed now ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.