Repairs

Day 5 of our Indian trip.

This had to be one of the major highlights of the trip, when we visited the Taj Mahal. There can be few more recognisable buildings in the world, and it didn't disappoint. It is a magnificent and beautiful structure. Yes, of course I took lots of photographs, many of them very conventional views. But if you were hoping to see a picture of the building here, then I have to disappoint you. I will try and give you an alternative view tomorrow!

We also visited Agra Fort today. This was the prison of Shah Jahan, who built the Taj Mahal as a memorial for his wife, Mumtaz Mahal, but who was imprisoned for the last eight years of his life by his son, Aurangzeb, who seized power in 1658.

Like many old monuments, the fort needs constant maintenance. When we entered, we spotted this man mixing up plaster to carry out some repairs. It looks like he needed some repairs to his teeth, as well! I'm not sure whether the plastic water bottle was for drinking from, or was used to mix the plaster.

Back blipped after my return to the UK as I had limited editing facilities with me and intermittent access to wifi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.