On Alert

An early morning walk beckoned. I made a Christmas cake last night. I was not very careful with my timing with the baking of the cake. I had to set my alarm for 4.am in order for me to get up and take the cake out of the oven. So there I was, wide awake with no chance of further sleep. The dog and I were out walking around 5.30am. Here Fergus is poised on the top of an escarpment looking intently into the distance. He was on alert, on the watch for rabbits.
We have spent time this afternoon following the dreadful hostage situation in Martin Place, Sydney. With computers and smart phones news is immediate these days and thus we have been able to watch the situation unfold almost by the minute. We want to say that we are appalled that such a situation could occur in Australia, our peaceful neighbour. The folk who are presently being held hostage in the Lindt Chocolate Café are in our thoughts and prayers. We can only hope that this crisis can be resolved in a peaceful way and the hostages safely restored to their families.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.