An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Child...

Now, for something completely different...

Christmas always brings out the best in all of us.

Christmas also brings out an occasional candid street snap in me - there are a lot more people, for a start, they have their minds on other things and are generally more conducive to standing around and chatting to the folk they probably haven't met for a while. You DO stop and say hello to someone you vaguely know, just to say 'Have a Happy Christmas'. don't you - you have to!

I spotted this little girl hopping about excitedly up to her Mummy - there is that nice big shiny bag in her hand, just bought from the toy shop, after all! - and watched her from across the road for a a minute or so. After her rotating little hop, she suddenly stopped and thrust her arms out. What had she seen? Santa? Who knows. Not being a parent I don't know what is trending in the latest line up of cuddly (Disney?) characters and such.

But I liked the colours of her hat. And how she is dually purposefully so heavily wrapped up in layers of clothing - from shock absorption as well as heat insulation too, of course!

Lens is Nikkor G 85mm f1.8 But I had to quite heavily crop but that's OK as this little Nikkor lens is mighty sharp, though I added a little more in editing.

Getting this and posting early as it looks to be another clear night. So, do expect another freezing cold (meteor-free?) Blip after midnight. I have a new subject in mind, using a late night train service.

DERELICT CHALLENGE Week #12

My Favourite is: Paused's 'Anti-Social'

My Runner Up is: Biker Bear's entry

Thanks, as always, to ALL who entered. There's another this coming Thursday, then a two week break to cover Christmas and New Year

Huge thanks too for ALL who got my helicopter trail Blip well up into the spotlights yesterday - cheers.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.