An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Christmas Decorations, in the Frosty Night-Sky!

Went out at 1.30 a.m. in search of meteor showers.

Online newspaper reports hinted that they would literally be raining down on me, with the peak between 2 a.m. and 3 a.m.

Was out in the freezing flippin and VERY frosty night for TWO hours. I probably saw about a dozen bright streaks, almost all out of the corner of my eye and me wondering whether that was one, or not. One though, was so bright and low, it was like a firework. My camera was pointing the other direction, at the time...

The moon, surprisingly was still at half power, which naturally softened the contrast and but was bright enough to illuminate all the landscape here AND cast the big shadow of my tripod here! It also softened and lightened the darkness, so even though the stars were there, they never really 'shone'.

I didn't walk as far as Old Sarum Hillfort, as in my Blip yesterday. It is just out of sight on the far right of this frame and on the horizon. The River Avon is in the dip on the left here but is concealed by scrub and trees. A long strip of orange street lamps undulate along the top of the ridge over on the far side. I've used this location for night photos before but before I started Blip. I always liked the distant cypress trees, the path and in this case, the bench too.

I did take a few photos, at various places, but none had a shooting star in them. This was the longest exposure, of three and a half minutes and so that has made them ALL shooting stars! The icing on the freezing cake - look in LARGE - was the passing overhead helicopter....

You may ask why a 'copter would be circling above at 2 a.m. It wasn't searching for anyone, or anything, just circled and then flew back from where it came from.
Friends DO believe me when I say that there is always night-time activity up above in the heavens and they know I don't smoke anything "herbal", or touch alcohol, but there is always that question of proof. Well, here it bloody well is!!!!

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8

So, yes, disappointed to not have seen more shooting stars and to not have got any on the sensor. Disappointed that I went out in the minus Celsius's? Nope, as you all know, I'm in my element on a clear, moonlit night. Even if one creature gave out such a blood-curdling long cry, Stephen King has just signed it up for his first ever CD release....

Derelict Thursday I would normally have commented on many and judged my favourite two from last week by now. I simply haven't yet, partly to do with having this cold and tonight, well, it's 5 a.m. and I have to go to bed at some point! Tomorrow, though and I shall. I promise!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.