It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Rapha Beans!


Anyway it was a good evening of learning about behaviour, the focus being mainly one's own and how to change when it is unhelpful. Progress into understanding others is much easier when you do so.

It was early swim day and the roads were crusted with snow as I headed to get the train! Typical......up before 6am only to find Northern Rail had cancelled the thing. The result was a short but very focussed swim!

After work I headed to the Rapha Store where they were showing a film about coffee. I met James from work there, bumped into Kristian an ex-British champ who failed to recognise me from Canterbury days and then had a very fine Workshop espresso. There were plenty wankster beards in evidence with most people possessing the expected persona for such an event. The A listers, Wayne, Jayne and their lovely, friendly new barista Maddy from my beloved NTP came too.

The film was beautifully shot, showing much of the bean to cup process. Not the process that involved buying a shiny pod of overpriced, pre-ground pap into a similarly overpriced automatic machine. Rather, the growers and coffee producers in Rwanda and Central America were introduced, we saw the growing and processing, getting a feel for how basic yet complex the journey of artisan coffee is. I loved watching the Japanese baristas brewing too.

I could witter on for ages, but those who tease me about how seriously I take my coffee brewing would do well to watch the film. It showed the time investment and hard work of the growers of my beans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.