mildly unwelcome

For some reason the varnish on the neck decided to suddenly flake off this evening, stabbing me in the side of the thumb. Whilst it could be useful in encouraging good thumb technique I've tried that before and would just end up stabbing myself in the thumb several more times when my thumb gave up attempting to stay pointing along the neck and reverted to where it's sloppy but comfortable. Even with a bit of Sellotape over it it feels like it might try and pop through at some point and might need to be flaked off where it appears to be about to flake off, hopefully without destabilising the fingerboard edging until fresh varnish can be applied.

After failing to meet up with a former colleague (also a former blipper and I only refer to him so in the hope that he might one day resume though it is with decreasingly less such hope) for several months I finally met up with him for lunch today, coincidentally on the same day as some sort of Twitter-arranged burrito-centered lunchtime-meetup sort of thing. As the acquisition of burritos (and enchiladas and possibly fajitas (though not quesadillas or chimichangas) (and, above all, refried beans, though they were not available in this instance)) is something whose omission from my About page is an oversight I shall have to correct shortly I was pleased to agree to attend, despite the scariness of new people and the untestedness of the venue. Fortunately the place was relaxed, the food tasty though far too fragile to survive in wrapped-up form without splitting at some point during the eating process and there were only three unknown new-people present, all of whom work locally and one of whom works at the same place and knows the identity of another former colleague. I don't know if it's weekly or fortnightly but as burritos are involved I expect that I shall attend again, should I be sufficiently hungry at the appropriate time to be able to eat something that large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.