Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

Newburgh Beach Seals

Today I woke up feeling bloody awful, I didn't get that great a sleep either being so hot during the night my duvet was soaking! Eventually I just decided to get up and have a shower.

I was hoping it would make me feel better, but it didn't, because Anth was driving up from Edinburgh for the weekend and I was due to meet him just outside Banchory, to head up Clachnaben for a walk, so I picked up the mobile and changed the plans, deciding to meet him in Aberdeen so he could see the Mandarin Duck I finally found last week, this duck proved as elusive as ever, so we decided to drive to Newburgh beach.

We walked around the Forvie Sands side of the Ythan Estuary, this is the side the seals gather on and we were hoping they hadn't been scared away by the people prior to us being there. As we made our way around the shore several seals began to pop up out of the water, I sat on a stone in peace and just waited, eventually the inquisitive seals began to come closer providing us with some great chances for photos.

As we rounded the corner where the seals usually congregate, we were met by a rather unexpected sight, around 200 seals fighting and groaning, not only that but they didn't seem too bothered by our presence, they just kept a close eye on us as we slowly wandered closer, eventually sitting on the beach some 25 meters away where we both sat in peace relaxing and taking shots.

Back home we are waiting on our curry whilst Newcastle play Bristol City, although we are currently 2-0 down, the rugby is also on in the background and then the France game is on later, it should be a good night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.