Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

I need a new camera

Been trying to get a good blip of our Amaryllis, you know, standard stuff, shallow depth of field, flower and stamens in focus background out of focus, and been failing miserably.

My super duper brand new TZ7 just won't let me have that level of manual control. My first shots indoors, the background was too distracting, so I moved it against a plain background, but that looked too false. I tried to zoom in just on the stamens and that worked, but that was cheating and not the shot I was after, so moved it outside. With the background so far away it'll be out of focus - wrong - I got the above shot which looks like something out of The Day of the Triffids. I must admit to liking it's surrealistic quality, but it's not what I wanted.

I like my TZ7 & TZ5 before that, just bung it in your pocket and it takes great pictures, but would it have been that difficult to leave it with a decent manual mode. Anyway I've decided I need a new camera, just don't tell Mrs L, she thinks I spend too much on cameras, which of course I don't, here's my camera history just to prove a point.

Panasonic DMC-TZ7 (12x zoom 4.1 to 49.2mm)
Panasonic DMC-TZ5 (10x zoom 4.7 to 47mm)
Canon PowerShot TX1 (Mrs L's - 10x zoom 6.5 to 65mm)
Canon PowerShot A710 (6x zoom 5.8 to 34.8mm)
Fujifilm FinePix S9500 (Didn't like & sold on ebay)
Olympus C-730 Ultra Zoom (10x zoom 5.9 to 59mm)
Fujifilm FinePix E550 (4x zoom 7.2 to 28.8mm)
Fujifilm FinePix 6800 Zoom (3x zoom 8.3 to 24.9mm - Lost one in Greece, so bought another)
Canon EOS 1000F
Pentax ME super
Pentax K1000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.