horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Bit of a Wag

ANOTHER wildlife shot. I've come to realise that taking shots of wildlife is what i really enjoy doing. Okay, I need better wildlife photo equipment, but I've got the waiting technique down. Lunchtime free, there's a spot by St Bernard's Well that most people don't seem to go down (just some steps right onto the river bank). As long as you can sit through the first ten minutes when nothing moves then you might get rewarded.

And so the usual mallards and blue tits and chaffinches and pigeons and crows made an appearance. Then in the distance were the dippers, lovely, wonderfully comical little things. And just as I was about to leave the chap up top there landed on the bank opposite me. T'was obvious he was a wagtail, but I only knew the Pied version by sight. RSPB website to the rescue, it's a Grey Wagtail - on the amber list, and more colourful than the name suggests.

I may not be a twitcher (no seriously, I'm not) but I like seeing new things I haven't spotted before. That elusive Kingfisher still proves... well... elusive.

Still down with the lurgy (as someone I work with pointed out, you're more annoyed than ill - it's true, I really just get fed-up of being ill very very quickly) but I'm determined to make the pub quiz tonight (that may prove a folly too far, we'll see). Getting out at lunchtime helped, but back at the desk the fug draped itself around me again. I don't even have the energy for a proper rant (sorry SooB!) - here's hoping tomorrow sees a return to normality...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.