horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Goosanders in the Mist

Figgate Park, I really can't believe how I missed this place till the last few months, it has really become a favourite place to wander. And blipped today to save yet another, more direct, wildlife shot! (though they ARE listed at the end).

Off work today - I phoned in and was completely honest, saying I did actually feel a little better, but that I had work more or less up to date and so thought I'd take today from my annual leave just to give me a recovery day. "Just work from home," came the reply, "As long as you check your email every now and then there's no need to waste a day's holiday." You can tell that there are people in the office after the various restructurings are really winding down. Still, who was I to argue?

A few things done in the house, cabin fever sent me out into the mist on the five minute walk to the Figgate Pond. Coming back I fell prey to that very 'culture of fear' I rail against. It was lousin' time for the youngest kids at the school by the park, and I suddenly felt very conscious of carrying a big camera loaded with a reasonably large 55-200mm lens attached. With 'dirty mac' headlines flying into my forethought the camera was quickly put back in the bag out of sight. By eck, seriously, what's come of the world?

Right, must go, prepping the dinner (i.e. getting the potatoes cooked to make the gnocchi ahead of time), but here are those birds....

Reflective Tufted Duck
Watchful Moorhen
Superduck! (is it a bird etc etc...)
Is this a Mallard???
Greylag Ballet
The Titular Goosander Female

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.