Emily L. J. Boyd

By eljb

Sticky Notes

This is what my note book has been reduced too. A series of post-it notes.

Dad bought me a lovely mole-skin sketchbook and when I opened it a few days ago and all I had in it was a pile of post-its on which I'd scribbled designs late at night. They're everywhere in my room - stuck to my shelves, in note pads, on my white board, in boxes, on pads and even in vases.

When I'm done with one I fold it into a little origami crane and put it in the vase. I do this when I'm done with the note and it's been translated into either a CAD rendering, put into a proper pad or have been made. But I still reach for these colourful little buggers first. I mean there's a serious degree of obsession, I have a box just full of unused post-its because there was a period during my Masters when I would buy a new block every other week for this purpose

I may be mad. But it's this stacks turn for translation. Lets hope it's fruitful. And at least I'm not the only designer who gets bogged down in them, check out Yellow Sticky Notes on YouTube which is by an illustrator called Jeff Chiba Stearns. It really is amazing. And very true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.