LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Hullabaloo

On the way home from work today we passed over the junction of Jeffrey Street and the High Street and were unable to turn right as police were blocking the road. After getting home I got wrapped up and went back up to investigate and it turns out a tree had fallen over and completely crushed a VW estate car. Tree surgeons were cutting the humungous trunk and branches from the wreckage of the car (I'm assuming no salespersons were trapped inside the offending pile of kak). Due to being a bit cowardly I did not attempt to break through the cordon and see if any sap had been spilt on the tarmac.

On the way to work this morning it was a total whiteout around about the Penicuik area, though disappointingly only raining in Peebles. I am informed that if it snows in Peebles we all work from home, even the staff who live in Peebles. And of course the first day in two weeks I didn't put the camera in my bag is the day the borders are a picture postcard of wintery joy :(

Just before coming to the PC to upload this the cat (who is not happy that he is stuck in the house all day after 18 months of having someone to let him in and out at his whim) was desperate to be out and as I opened the door he zoomed past me and left two great big skid marks in the snow before falling on his ass and then rushing back indoors as fast as his little legs would propel him. Not a happy chappy!

There is a deadline at work tomorrow and the project manager is returning from 2 days off to perhaps find there is no-one in the office to carry out last minute fixes, which could be interesting, though I believe my input is pretty much ahead of schedule and it won't be an issue if I'm not there. I also had an interesting period in the afternoon when I discovered that developers were listening to what I, a designer was saying and, gasp, taking it on board! One was even pleased when I suggested (jokingly) that maybe I could give them a training session on HTML structure. This is nothing like being at The Widows (no offence Scobes, Silverback, Tonto etc.).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.