Post sunset, Okarito Lagoon

Back at Okarito :-)

I was here just over 3 weeks ago and now I'm back with Mum and Dad. It's been warm and sunny on the coast (West Coast of the South Island, NZ) today, and Okarito looked stunning and at it's best.

It's a long drive from Christchurch to here. We stopped to fuel with a coffee, stretched our legs at Arthur's Pass, stopped to admire the engineering feat of the Otira Viaduct (I nearly perished in the stiff southerly howling through the narrowest gap of the pass) and a long leisurely lunch at Hokitika with relatives. None of us had seen each other for years so it was a real catch up.

I'm rather pleased with this panorama. It was low light and I didn't have my tripod down on the beach. I wouldn't usually go for a half-and-half above and below the horizon but what's the point of rules if you don't break them occasionally? ;-)

Those clouds look a little foreboding. Hopefully they won't interfere with tomorrows planned surprise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.