My Angle

By myangle

Pelican

1/200th sec, f8, 400ISO, 85mm lens, Canon 350D

This one's for you Mum.

On my way home from college this afternoon I drove all the way along the esplanade, snapping away, trying to find something exiting for my blip. I actually got a very close, very sharp image of a seagull which was going to be my image for the day.

Then I got this. The reason why its mouth is open is because one of his mates flew very close to him...or her. I actually got a wing from the other bird in the first shot.

Pelicans aren't my favourite birds. I don't know why. They are great survivors though. I have been nearly 2000 kilometres inland on the edge of the Simpson Desert and seen pelicans on the Diamantina river. Amazing. Apparently they breed there. That is why you never see baby pelicans here. It must be true, I heard it on the radio.

All in all I really enjoyed my drive this afternoon. You wouldn't know it was still winter here. The temprature got above 30 degrees centigrade the other day, and the nights are much warmer. Bring on the summer.

It is my last day at college tomorrow. Next week I am back at work for a week or so then off on leave for a 10 days. We were going to head for the great Australian Outback but my work situation and a diabetic cat have made it virtually impossible to go. We would need 2 extra days which I cant get. Of the 10 days away, 6 would be driving. that is just too much with no enough in between.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.