My Angle

By myangle

My favourite unfinished project

2.5sec, f14, 400ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 18mm, tripod, Canon 350D.

One of many unfinished projects I have on the go. I actually feel stressed when I think about all the work I have to do to finish them all up.

This is my 1966 Landrover Series IIA. He came off the production line around August/September that year. His name is Earl Grey, and he is older than me. This is the third Landrover I have owned. I think it is the fact that I was born in the UK that I have a predisposition to liking these agricultural vehicles. They have a particular sound when they are running which makes then distinguishable from and other vehicle ever built.

I bought this one from a young fellow who claimed that it was knackered. He just couldn't get it to start. I paid the asking price of $200 and with a bit of help from my mate Ken, I got The Earl home and we had him started in half an hour. The points were wired up wrong. We discovered that the engine was in very good condition. I was very pleased.

I have done the brakes, clutch and water pump as main projects, but there is still a lot of work to do. I originally bought him to use as a hunting vehicle on Ken's property, but have since decided to do a proper restoration and register him.

Because I am so busy (with other unfinished projects), I usually only work on him every six months or so, but I am quite pleased with the progress. My intention is to keep him original which isn't too hard. There are plenty of Landrover spares around.

Australians aren't too fond of Landrovers as a general rule. They are uncomfortable to travel any great distance in. I read somewhere that the Series III was the downfall of Landrover sales here because it had a plastic radiator grill. The farmers couldn't cook their steaks on it anymore.

I do have a number of other unfinished projects, not the least of which is a half renovated kitchen. I ripped it out one day a few years ago and we had no stove or running water in there for about 6 months until I got around to fitting some of the second hand one we scored from the neighbour. How my wife put up with it I don't know. It is now functional but very much a work in progress.

My wife once told me that the average person has 9 projects on the go at any one time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.