Grand Canal Theatre

I've blipped it before, about a year ago when it was a construction site. Now it's opened its doors (first production was around St Patrick's Day, I think). The Grand Canal Theatre, designed by Daniel Libeskind, is the first purpose-built theatre to open in Dublin since the Abbey Theatre's present home, way back in 1966.

I strolled around Grand Canal Square this morning on the way home from Carl's place. I was a bit disappointed that some construction work still remains to be completed around one corner of the square, and this unfinished aspect rather spoils the overall effect of the new theatre. Still, it's sufficiently finished to be impressive. I came back with a wide selection of shots, but I'll still have to go back several times again, at different times of day including night-time, to catch something which might do it justice.

Unfortunately, there's very little on offer during the opening season which would be of any interest to me, although there's been some talk among the Music Group about going to see Scottish Opera's production of La bohème in June. I'll probably go along, though more out of interest in seeing the inside of the theatre than any real urge to see the opera (I don't at all fancy the idea of updating the setting to '21st Century New York'). We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.