My first butterfly blip of the season

I really don't know my butterflies one from the other, but I was told by a runner in the park that this is a Mourning Cloak. It does resemble the picture in my Peterson Insect Guide, which says they emerge very early from their winter roost, sometimes while snow is still on the ground. If any of you blippers are butterfly experts, feel free to verify that identification or to change it. As I walked along the path, it circled my head and landed on the branch. Circled my head again and landed in the same place...almost as if it were saying, "Blip me!" So here it is for the Blipworld to see.

Our temperature was above 80 degrees again today, way above the norm for April. At the end of the week, we are to expect temperatures in the mid forties. We shall see what we shall see. That's spring for you...variable and inconstant! Must run now. I have a meeting tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.