dreams...

had a wonderful dream in the wee hours today...I saw that I went back to the small (which is not small anymore) hilly town where I grew up...I saw that I am visiting the place after over a decade...I saw that a lot has changed...dusty rustic tracks have given way to metallic tar road...buildings have come up, replacing the streetside tea shops...with all these changes, it was looking like an altogether different place...my eyes though were searching for old rustic town that I have memories of...I walked...I walked down many lanes - some new, some familiar...I walked on the wet grass, I walked on the trails left behind by people walking through the grass...I did find those open fields, broken roads, lychee orchards that I have fond memories of...and I was glad to see that some of things have still not lost their pristine beauty and originality. As a kid, I used to walk about 1.5kms every evening up to the village dairy - where we waited while the milkman milked the cows and buffaloes and I walked back with the milk can in hand - sometimes happily chatting with friends, sometimes quiet and unmindful in the company of elders. That was one activity that I liked and disliked on and off. But in retrospect, it seems like one of the most pleasurable daily walks...given half a chance, that's how I would like to spend my evenings. In my dream, I walked down to the dairy...I saw change there, but not too much. Was glad to see that the milkman recognized me, even after so many years! I sat on the same charpoy waiting for him to finish his job...I didn't have the milk can with me today...but still, I waited - don't know for what. I came out of there and started walking again...I walked and walked and walked (as far as my memory goes, I have always liked walking) through streets and places in the town. I walked up and down the fort (though in reality, there's no fort in that place)...as I was returning back at dusk to get ready to leave the town, I woke up...I woke up, refreshed. I woke up happy, content and sad at the same time. This was one of the most wonderful dreams that I remember in a long time. There's a legend in this part of the world that early morning dreams generally come true! :)

"One crazy ride - riding solo to the top of the world" - Got this movie from a friend yesterday. It is about a group of friends who rode through the remote and 'restricted' land of Arunachal Pradesh - a Himalayan state in north-east India. They rode solo and they were themselves their own film crew. They filmed their trip and released it as a movie, which went on to win a lot of awards. Plan to watch it over the weekend. Something tells me that it will be very interesting.


[Edit]: If there were any option to favourite my own entry, I would have fav-ed this blip!

[Edit]: I've just been told that if you tell your early morning dreams to others, they don't come true! :) :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.