horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Auld

Customer Service Hints:

When a customer orders something that 99% of people will require to be delivered, let's just say for example a couple of tonnes of topsoil to fill some raised beds, and you offer for an additional amount of money a specified delivery date. And that customer chooses a date, again let's pick a date at random like, ooh I dunno, today. And you send an email at, picking a time at random, 8.45am stating that the 2 tonnes of topsoil have been loaded onto a truck for delivery. What you really really don't want to do is not deliver that topsoil, not contact the customer at all, not have a phoneline service manned after 6pm, which is of course the latest time for delivery specified on the customer's order, and not do deliveries over the weekend meaning the non-delivery could be easily resolved.

I'll have to wait till I've phoned them tomorrow to find out just the level of 'fail' Turf and Stuff have achieved. Mel's dad sat in all day to take the delivery for us. When there was no call I simply assumed the soil would be waiting in the street for me to start 'barrowing when I got home. Especially given the email that it was on the way. No such luck. And no message on either of the two phone numbers given with the order.

I am not amused.

Which is a shame, because a busy and productive first half of the day was followed up with what seemed like quite a good interview in the afternoon (not the best, not the worst, but then I've had times when I thought the interview was brilliant and not got the job for various reasons).

Beer has been taken, as has Thai green curry, but I'll be on the phone tomorrow morning. I've had a look at their T&Cs and 'time is not of the essence' even when a specified delivery time has been paid for. Sometimes I'm happy I'm a lawyer though. Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977 for the win - where a term is contrary to something a customer would reasonably be able to expect it may be deemed unfair and is therefore voidable (rather than void...). When you've paid 25 quid for a specific delivery date I reckon it's perfectly reasonable for that delivery to be made on that day.

Anyway, there may yet be a good reason, so I'm reserving ire. That may disappear.

p.s. had comments from a few new people recently, and some have commented on the cathartic nature of the last couple of days of rants. Some folk who have been reading my blips for a while will let you know that it's something that happens quite often on my blips (indeed, SooB is somewhat partial to a rant for example). It doesn't mean I'm a particularly angry person, or that I'm in a constant hacked off mood. Actually, to the contrary I'm usually at my most 'vocal' when in a good mood. Rambling rants are fun (for me at least).

p.p.s. Every Lothian and Kingdom blipper should have the Forth Bridge in their blipbank, and that being the case I deliberately went for an 'old' processing (that and the fact that the original shot was intensely dull), and I really liked the reflection of the clouds on the right balancing against the hard lines of the bridge.

p.p.p.s. Did that last comment make me sound like a luvvie????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.