horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Smug and Smugger

Seemed only right to blip Eve and daddy out in the afternoon sun. Eve seems rather pleased with herself, and Steven understandably so. Both have been blipped together before.

Anyway, that was a coffee meet and great to chat and catch-up with Steven, after a morning popping out to the farmers market and then getting some stuff done in the garden. The trip into town meant I could wear my suit to drop it off at the office and pick up my bike which had been left there yesterday, and ride home in the sun.

The afternoon was more of the same in the garden, and replacing the bottom bracket (probably my most hated job on the bike) of the fixed wheel bike.

But really the day was all about the most random excuse I've heard in ages. My brother Adam was heading up north from Coldstream and caught me at Asda where I was popping to get some bbq stuff. Standing in one of the two self-service queues a till came free and as I went to go to it someone from the other queue stepped across to go to it. I must be getting stroppy in my old age for I issued a simple reproaching, "Erm, excuse me..."

She stopped and turned and said, "Well I don't know which queues are for what."

"Well that queue is for those tills, and this one is for these," I helpfully pointed out. 'Helpfully' in this instance actually meaning 'sarcastic' as her statement was laced with annoyance at having been stopped.

And then it came. The reasoning. The excuse. The... the... "Well I've just arrived from England, I don't know how it works."

I must have stared at her for a good 5-10 seconds, before replying simply with, "I have no idea what that means..." (my other option had been, "Well I'm English too and I'd worked it out...", whereas Adam's option was, "I wasn't aware Asdas in England operated different queueing systems.")

The look of sheer self-important loathing on her face made my day. I've had enough of people being impatient and rude and simply not giving a damn. She may have had a bad day, I have no idea, but there's no need for quite the petulant foot-stamping in a middle-aged woman (or man, or youngster, or old person - you get the drift). Time to speak up more.

Rejected blips:

Bedraggled Bee (best viewed VERY large)
Chimney gulls
Eve looking surprised
Blowing a kiss to camera

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.