My Angle

By myangle

Abandoned Boat

1/60th sec, f11, 400ISO, 80-200mm lens @ 200mm, tripod, Canon 350D

Miserable weather today. Not that I am complaining. We desperately need the rain.

After a very pleasant lunch with some friends, Jo and I decided to take a drive along the waterfront to see if anything wanted to be blipped. We came accross this boat on the wrong side of the harbour wall and going nowhere fast.

There is a story behind this boat. I took a photo of it a week or so ago, sunk near Manly Harbour entrance in very shallow water. It wasn't blipworthy so I went on my way. It turns out that nobody had claimed it though. There was an article in the newspaper calling for the owner to come along and sort it out. It had been ransacked so nothing of value was left and as far as I know, It wasn't claimed.

Now this. Interestingly there is a VHF aerial on it and a number of other bits and pieces. My best guess is that someone has had it moored in the mangroves somewhere, doing it up slowly. There are hundreds of boats along the coastline in various states of disrepair. We had a big tide and strong winds a few weeks ago, and that must have been enough to shake it loose. Lets hope noone was living on it when it sunk.

So now it sits on the wrong side of Wynnum Harbour wall. Somehow, it has made it's way accross the bay from Manly Harbour. I noticed that it has a registration sticler on it so someone is in a bit of trouble. Unsurprisingly it wasn't moved to Manly Harbour. Too posh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.