Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

White Iris

I was a little later than usual getting out today. To make up for my tardiness, the result of researching camera gear and being unable to decide between a Ricoh GRD III or Ricoh GXR with the S10 lens unit. Then to further muddy the water, I hit on the notion of whether it may be best to forego a new compact camera completely and opt for the older version of the Canon 100mm/2.8 Macro lens.

If anyone has this lens, I would be interested in your comments. Also, if anyone wishes to give me input on the best choice to make with my limited funds, feel free to do so. But I digress -- not for the first time :-).

I set out on my daily walk with a clear goal of what I wanted to take. It was a shot I took yesterday -- it can be seen here. I walked briskly along Post Street rather than at my usual leisurely pace with an eye out for photo opportunites. However, out of the corner of my eye, I did spot this white iris. No point shooting that, I thought, I can only post one photo. And that was pre-ordained or so I believed.

I re-took the planned shot together with one I had tried to capture on two previous days and began to head back home confident in the knowledge that I had two decent subject to choose from for today's post. But the white iris was still at the back of my mind, so I headed back the way I came.

With a breeze blowing, it proved a hard shot to get in focus and it was an occasion when that Canon Macro lens would have come in very handy. Still, I fired off several shots, adjusting the focus ever so slightly each time in the hope that I would get it right. Seems like I did.

No, I am not going to reveal how many shots were discarded. Let me retain a little mystery, please! :-)

Zeiss Planar T* 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.