Sally Hadley

By sallyb

Croxden Abbey

We visited Croxden Abbey today - thanks to Grandmama for a previous blip which alerted me to the fact it existed, and is not too far from me in Staffordshire.

I was praying all the way that the sun would be kind and shine a little ray on me and the Abbey whilst we were there, and it did a couple of times which I managed to catch for the blip.

Whilst 'the other half' got bored and had a kip in the car I happily carried on blipping and got some lovely detail shots which I hope will convert successfully to b&w.

It was a very peaceful afternoon spent strolling around the ruins absorbing the history of the place and imagining the monks building their home and church in 1100 andsomething not many creature comforts around in those days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.