Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Backlit Window

Today I went out to a semi-formal lunch in Harris Manchester College in Oxford. The occasion was the Oxford lunch of the old boys' club of my school.

It's always a slightly surreal occasion. Despite the fact that I left school over 20 years ago I am always one of the youngest at these events (by many years). Even more surreal is the fact that the current headteacher is invited and brings news of a large co-ed comprehensive school to a whole load of people who went to single sex grammar schools (it was a co-ed comp by the time I got there), although apparently the physics labs STILL haven't been refurbished - crikey, they were old when I was there!

Lunch was nice though, and I caught up with a few friends who also go to these things - mainly people who went to my school and then to Oxford too. I was also, as usual, grabbed by my brother's old maths teacher, who wanted to be remembered to him and told me, yet again, how wonderful he was!

I was pretty badly behaved - during the drinks before lunch I went round with my camera taking pictures, and during the lunch itself I tweeted under the table and twitpicd every course as it arrived!

I had quite a nice picture of the hall itself, which was distinguished by being quite little (I "grew up" in Christ Church, which has a rather larger place), but in the end I really liked this picture that I took in what I would call the ante hall.

And I survived a real social occasion, out of the house, without the Wonderspouse, and didn't get ill!

Hurrah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.