Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Minotaur & Hare

As part of my ongoing therapy and rehabilitation into the world, and to get me some sunshine and exercise, today we went to Cheltenham. We had quite a long walk in the sunshine, and did a little shopping.

In one of the pedestrianized areas of Cheltenham stands this statue, which is a pretty impressive 9ft 5ins tall and made of bronze. There is an inscription on one of the paving slabs just in front of the statue which reads:

THE MINOTAUR AND THE HARE
SOPHIE RYDER 1995
Purchased by public subscription 1998 with the generous support of Beaufort Homes, the Baker family and the people of Cheltenham


It's an imposing piece of work - I'm 5ft 9ins tall and I feel very little when I'm standing next to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.