Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Fab Fabric

While we were in Aberystwyth we saw some wonderful cloaks. Beautiful full-length things, that I desired very very much!

However, they cost around £100 each, and I'm afraid I simply don't have such money to spend on an item of clothing. I'm still kicking myself HARD for spending valuable money on stupid horrid clothes for school, and I'm afraid clothes will have to be CHEAP ones now. Primark or charity shops only from now on.

So, I hatched a plan. If I can't BUY a cloak, I can MAKE one! One thing I do have in my favour is that I can make stuff. So, I spent £6 on a black king size duvet cover (for the outside of the cloak) and £8 on two GIGANTIC curtains (made out of this fab fabric) for the lining, collar and so on - the exact design isn't complete yet, but it'll come!

So, today I have sat on the sofa taking out the curtain hooks (there's a quid's worth of those, which will come in handy), unpicking the rufflette (which can be used) and detaching the lining (loads of lining fabric which I can also use for something). I then washed the first curtain (the second is still being unpicked) since it smelt a little musty, like it had been in someone's loft, which it probably had - I got them from a charity shop, so the money went to the Welsh Air Ambulance Service too - can't do better than that!

Lots of work ahead, but once it's finished I'll blip it. However, it may be some time - I tend to have lots of projects on the go at any one time, so they all proceed quite slowly!

Other than that, we've slept, played with Dexter and Pebbles a lot (Felix, Tiggy and Smudge have been outside playing on the lawn), and gradually sorted out the unpacking from our trip!

And I'm finally caught up with blips now too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.