My Angle

By myangle

Wynnum North

1/800th sec, f13, 400ISO, 28-105mm lens @ 28mm, Canon 350D

I picked up Jo at lunchtime and we went for a bit of a drive around to see if I could capture the essence of this wild weather that we are having. This is unusual for this time of year. The wild wind last night cause havoc around the city. I drove along the esplanade at midnight las night after finishing work to inspect the carnage. There weren't too many trees down but there were lots of branches accross roads, etc. That and the driving rain put me off any sort of blippage. Maybe tonight.

I managed to find this view of the bay which is surprisingly free of powerlines! If you look down in the lower right hand corner you can see the rock wall from Wynnum Harbour. The trashed boat is still there. The peninsula above that is the entrance to Manly Harbour. It isn't a good day to be out on the bay.

Moreton Bay catches a lot of people out in rough weather. The bay itself is very shallow. In the area in this photo it is no more than 8 foot deep at best. Most is less than 4 foot. So even in the worst gales the sea doesn't get too high. The problem is that the troughs in the waves sometimes can give zero depth to the water. A few years ago a fairly large bay cruise disappeared in rough weather in the northern part of the bay. When it was found it was in 13 foot of water if memory serves me right. It had run aground while going through a wave trough and been swamped by the next wave. The entire crew drowned.

I read the updated Blipfoto rules. It is good to see that there is a framework to abide by. Not linking to outside links only means I will have to concentrate even more on capturing the best image possible.

Finally....

I didn't get the job. Back to the drawing board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.