My Angle

By myangle

Wynnum Pier - Midnight

30sec, f9, 100ISO, 28-105mm lens @ 28mm, tripod, Canon 350D, 12.04am

A daily Blip is more about commitment than it is about taking photos. You do however end up with a visual representation of your commitment. Some of us are photography fanatics, professionals, semi-professionals, hobbyists and some of us are even happy snappers. It takes the same kind of commitment to post a daily photo for all blippers.

While I am sitting here editing my 100th blip in my nice warm computer room, listening to Joe Sample, it is a rainy and windy outside and I can't help but to chuckle to myself. To reach this milestone I think I have gone a little bit around the twist. Standing on a lonely, rainy pier in the middle of the night while a gale is literally trying to blow my camera, tripod and myself into the water is a little bit insane. Or just plain silly.

I wanted to achieve something really special for this Blip. I executed my plan perfectly. Just in case I stuffed it up, I went down to Wynnum Pier at midnight. That way I had 24 hours to find something better if I wasn't happy. I needed wind for the shot I had in mind. Plenty of that! I also needed the tide to be in. Oops! It was half an hour off low. It would have helped if the moon was out too but it was on the other side of the world, and anyway, it was cloudy. Things weren't looking good for a blip milestone.

Incidentally, I finish work at 11 pm so it isn't really that unusual for me to be driving around at midnight. I'm not that weird!

Well, I was there so I decided to make the most of things, and in between sideways rain showers I shot several long exposures. This one was what I would call a filler photo. It didn't really interest me at the time, but I was there so I took it. It has a KISS element about it. I ended up at the end of the pier, taking photos looking back towards the shore. None of them made the cut. I hate that feeling when I am taking photos that I am wasting my time and not getting what I set out to achieve. I shouldn't take things so seriously.

I am happy with my 100th blip.

Blipfoto has become a bit more than just a place to show off my photos. Increasingly I have used it as a journal in which I document some of what is going on in my daily life other than photography. It has surprised me that people actually respond to what I write about, no matter how mundane! How do they find the time? I am flat out finding time to do my blip, post it, look at all my other unfinished projects, shower and go to work. I work at nights too, so I should have plenty of time to scour the Blip and respond and make some comments of my own. OK, I do respond, but not as much as I would like. Mostly I just look at the photos and wonder how I can get that good.

This is turning into a bit of a novel. I am now listening to "Scratch" by The Crusaders. My favourite album of all time and has been since I was about 15.
So thanks Paul for introducing me to the Blip. Thanks to everyone else for making my first 100 blips fun. I won't include names because I would forget someone.

Now for the next 100!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.