My Angle

By myangle

Wet day in Redland Bay

1/200th sec, f10, 100ISO, 85mm lens, Canon 350D

The bad weather is continuing here in Brisbane. I hear spokesman for the Bureau of Meteorology saying that this kind of weather hasn't happened at this time of year since 1880. Rain, rain and more rain. We just don't get rain in August in South East Queensland.

You can't really see it in the photo but it is belting down.

It isn't particularly bad as far a flooding goes. Yes, they have had more rain up the coast, and there has been some flooding there. This is just unusual.
I have always been a bit interested in weather patterns, so I think I will keep covering it with my blip until it clears. Needless to say there is water everywhere. Our house, like most houses here is wooden and after a few days of rain, everything starts to get a damp feel about it.

It is interesting that even though the light seemed to me to be pretty poor, my camera still gave me a reasonable shutter speed at 100ISO. It must be because the low cloud evens out the light.

I thought I had better add an extra note about the flooding. Just looking at the rainfall there are some serious totals. Rainbow beach which is about 200km north of here had 714mm of rain. A record. Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.