Denise and her chap

It actually turned into quite a productive day, which left me with a good feeling by the time the sun decided to break through after a day of relative dullness.

I needed a breath of fresh air, and I also still had to get a blip in the can. The Phoenix Park seemed like a good place to go, so that's where I spent an hour and a half or so, wandering around, soaking up the atmosphere, taking a few photos, and generally lazily enjoying myself. It was very much a last-minute decision to walk over to the Wellington Monument for a few final blips.

That's when I met Denise.

'Mister, mister, will you take our picture.'
'Where are you from mister?'
'From Dublin? Why are you taking pictures of the Monument? I thought it was only tourists who did that.'
'Can you take another one please mister.'
'Just one more please mister. All five of us this time.'
'Can you send those to me with Bluetooth?'
'I'll give you my number and you give me yours.'
'Are you a photographer mister?'
'This is me chap. I've just had a baby by him. He's in the British army and he's off to join them for a tour in Afghanistan. We're just having a few drinks together before he leaves.'
'Do you mind taking a picture with my phone. Thanks mister.'

A really nice girl, Denise. I hope her chap will be okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.