Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Pedal and Petunias

My wife is running in the Jacksonville Corporate Run this evening, so my schedule has been brought forward by a couple of hours. Also factor in that my yard needed mowing and time has been at a premium all day.

My plan was to retake a shot from yesterday plus one other for back up. The planned shot featured a motorbike set against rows of electricity meters at an apartment complex. It can be seen here. The back up shot was a group of red amaryllis growing out of doors. I still find it hard to come to terms with what were always indoor plants back in Britain growing out of doors here in Florida.

I took the amaryllis shot and walked to where the motorbike had been parked these past two days. And wouldn't you know it, the bike was not there. And interestingly someone had stuck up a scrawled sign on the meters saying "No Parking For Bikes".

Talk about the best laid schemes of mice and men.

It looked very much as if the amaryllis shot was going to be my shot of the day. Heading back home along King Street, I saw a bicycle propped up against a tree. Bicycles in America can often make good subjects, so my spirits rose a little. As I got nearer, I noticed the pedal in the midst of the petunias. And much to the puzzlement, I imagine, of the people dining outside at Jacksonville Grill, I crouched down and fired off the usual half dozen shots.

Amazingly, I only fired 30 shots, covering five subjects, during my walk today. That is about one-third of the number I usually take. Still, it meant processing was completed a lot faster and I had time to mow the yard in the blazing sun.

With the temperature reaching 82 degrees, I hope the organizers have laid on plenty of fluids for those taking part in the three-mile run this evening.

Me? I will be on the sidelines with my camera. I am not as stupid as I look. :-)

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.