Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Yellow Brick Wall

The King Street and Park Street intersection in Riverside is overlooked in one corner by the Whiteway Corner building, so called because when it was built in 1927 it featured white electric lamps, a novelty in those days.

The original building was a single storey, sorry but I am going to use the English spelling, constructed from yellow brick and comprised 10 shops. In 1949, it expanded further along Park Street in the form of a two-storey office/retail building again constructed from yellow brick.

I have walked past the building countless times and I don't know whether it was the light, or quite what it was, but I found myself drawn to the pattern of the yellow bricks and burgundy coloured mortar between them.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50. B&W conversion in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.