Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Train Passing Through

On another hot afternoon, I was late getting out. I think some of my prevarication stemmed from not having much of a clue where to go to get today's blip.

I kind of rued my tardiness when I heard a train horn blowing. If only I had gotten out 10 minutes earlier I would have had an instant subject, I thought to myself.

As luck would have it, I heard another train horn blowing as I locked the front door. I headed toward the rail crossing at Willow Bank Avenue, hoping that I would be in time.

I was. In fact, I had time to spare. The train was several hundred yards away and moving at a snail's pace.

I decided to go for the high contrast B&W mode and opted for a slightly uncoventional shot. I mean once you have seen one CSX locomotive, you have seen them all. So I shot the train as it passed me by and before it disppeared under the road bridge, with the barrier of the rail crossing in the foreground.

I think it worked rather well, although your mileage may vary. :-)

Have a good weekend, y'all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.