random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Needs a Liquor Paint

This temple is brilliant - a really old bit, and a newer equally or even more decrepit bit and a spiral staircase and those windows. Its hidden away and maybe noone goes there cos the little temples are much better looked after.

I booked a driver for the afternoon so picked on two sites I hadn't found yet, and two colleagues staying in the hotel up the road to come with me. Took ages to find the driver. Then he didn't know where the caves I wanted to see were, so I had to speak to someone on the phone to explain the same word I'd used to him to someone who could say it back to him in an accent he could understand.

The actual trip was to a brew pub, but we went to the cave first - which was actually a temple, but hewn out of a rock, thus making a cavern, grotto - call it what you will. Then the fascinating decrepit place - which the driver understood by the name I pronounced. He also knew the Corinthian club - so once we got there it didn't take much to say it wasn't there I actually wanted to be but the Corinthian Boutique Hotel, which had ot be nearby - we followed the signs into a huge car park. Stopped by the bnanqueting suite, realised that wasn't the place and then the driver followed us in the car as we walked to find trhe brew house.

For some reason a top boutique hotel can sport 150 tv channels but not the main sport channel showing EPL. So we had to put up with the guys in IPL shirts for the later 3rd-4th playoff wandering about. The beer was good - dark beer, although my Sheffield colleague reckoned it tasted like lager. We had a pitcher of English and a pitcher of Greenland. After our third pitcher the waiter came over and said that we had to pay now cos the cashier was here. I argued a bit since I think we shouldn't have to pay until we want to leave, but then gave in, paid and left (to make my point - which would have gone unnnoticed anyway).

The bar is called Dolally - which is named after a place in India where Briotish soldiers were sent and went a bit crazy waiting to go home. Perhaps thats where I should go with the family in monsoon time.

Headed to a Hydrabadi restaurant where the guy bossily recommended a chicken dish to me, I said I was veggy. Oh.
He went away for a while then came back to recommend Jalapeno Hurricane, that sounds more like it I said. Its not hot was his response. Forget that then says me and orders honeyed chilli potatoes - hot please.

Walked home - Knew somethign was wrong when I reached the door - I could here a funny noise - tune in tomorrow for the full and soggy tale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.