random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Waterlogged

Found out my tiled floors are not flat - but they do appear to be watertight (no calls from downstairs yet)

Continuing from yest - heard the gushing from outside, ran in to a pool of water, slipped about a bit.

Triage:
Step 1: Stop the water at source, found a hose off the funny thing above the sink (water purifier maybe) so stuffed it back on.
Step 2: Get the footie on the tv
Step 3: Have a poo
Step 4: Oh no, whats that noise again - the hose is off again, find out how to turn it off.
Step 5: How to get rid of the water

Sit in front of tv to consider. Go into kitchen where it is deepest and start bailing. Build up quite a sweat without making much inroad. Sit in front of tv for a while. Continue. TV. Continue. Brainstorm - there is a drain point out the backdoor in the scullery bit with the washing machine - start sweeping the water out - much quicker. Need a rest. etc. etc. etc. Then discover the front room floor trends away to the 3rd bedroom - it is full of water, I start to sweep that towards its ensuite which also has a drain in the floor.

Footie finishes, water still not clear, decide to put a/c on in my bedroom ready for when I get to bed. Oh dear - that also is waterlogged, and my discarded towels and sports gear from the gym earlier are all soaked - dump them in the bath and start sweeping again.

There is still water in all rooms bar two bedrooms when I give up - I have cleared the deep stuff. Now I am turning the lights off I can open the windows to get some airflow through and hopefully evaporate it without getting totally mozzied.

This morning it had almost all evaporated, and the remainder went today - there are a few tide marks though, and a few muddy footprints. Today I discovered the drawers in the kitchen also have water in them, the kettle and toaster seenm to have dried ok and are useable, but my fave ever cooking book The New Vegetarian Epicure by Anna Thomas is not looking good. I don' t know how all this water got into all these places.

Backblipped from Kolkata starting here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.