Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

Bullock's Oriole

Bullock's Oriole sipping nectar from aloe blossoms outside my office window. In the last couple of days this plant has been a popular watering hole (not exactly the corner saloon) for Hummingbirds, Gila Woodpeckers, and this new imbiber. I hope they don't get drunk on the nectar.

The aloe plant is also a good healing agent if you break off a leaf and rub it on a wound.

This view was such a great opportunity that I set up my tripod on my office desk, waited, and used the remote switch on my camera. I was able to work at the computer and still shoot without movement that would spook my feathered visitors.

I have started using Aperture 3, instead of Bridge for photo adjustments and file management for the last three days. I find it to be convenient and intuitive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.