A day ruled by boards and cords

The last thought before falling asleep last night was that I would spend today doing a much needed clean-up and back-up of my hard drive. I awoke to a complete black screen, so quiet, so very dead, not even a hard reboot would do anything.

Because I live with a computer genius my level of panic was fairly low. My hero, my live-in IT guy (lucky, lucky me) rode to my rescue, figured out immediately that the mother board had died and that my hard drive was probably fine. It got installed in a new tower and I have full access to it, all I had to do was re-install all my programs and download some new device drivers for Windows 7, which came pre-installed. i just did the last program install off the pile before I fall asleep in this chair and will continue tomorrow when I return from a day trip.

I'm afraid I've been a pain in the arse snappy crab today because of all the new stuff and glitches but hopefully I won't get strung up on any of these cords and my hero will forgive me. I must think of a real, real nice way to thank him.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.