Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

Posh Gates

I wish I had stayed off work today, when I arrived I discovered the place was pretty much empty, even several of the contractors who would normally be in so not to loose their day rate were off!

I got out of the office at lunch time for a wander down Aberdeen's most respected (stuck up) street, I think the metal roses on the gate reflect this quite well! Because the office does not have enough parking for everyone that works there, several of us would tend to park here during the day, this sparked quite an angry reaction from a few residents who would approach us;

"You cant park there!"

"Really? Why is that?"

"This is a private road, you cant park here"

"Really? I haven't seen any signs or bollards telling me anything about a private road"

"You just cant park here! Where are our visitors supposed to park?!

"Well your drive seems long enough to get at least 10 cars on it, cant they park there?"

"Listen, you cannot park here!"

"Well there are no yellow lines on the road or anything to tell me otherwise, so I am going to park here"

Cue a rather miffed upper class snob stomping back up their lengthy, capacious drive way!

Although it seems the residents got their way, they complained to the local councillor who has managed to get this street and several others near by, parking by permit only, or pay and display.

I went out for food tonight to La Stella in Aberdeen, for the Aberdeen lot it is well worth a visit, the food is excellent! I had some rare pigeon for a starter with a pork dish for main and a cheese board for desert, I am totally stuffed now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.