The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Pensioner reaches 100 shock!

Ah, the 100th blip at last (thanks to Alexander Gray who died in his 100th year for this engraving from his headstone in North Merchiston cemetery).
And what fun it's been. When I retired at the grand old age of 53 in November, I had two ideas - get a boat, and get some contract work. After a bit of thought (ahem), the latter went out the window. A gap year - that would do (for starters)! Some people enquired whether I'd get bored or miss work, or the people there. Well, if that really is a problem, you're going to have to face it sooner or later. So that's what I've knuckled down to addressing...the boat project, of course, moves along.
Ah, but blip has been a great find. Thanks to the running man for introducing it to me and to all those who drop by and leave a comment on occasion (that's you, Herr Schmidt and Mr Instography). My photography is still fairly pisspoor but my self-deprecating humour is, well, even worse! Ho ho. And from Bellingham to Shanghai, and sundry west coast types, I've looked at some great photos and more importantly, wasted hours, I mean shared in the lives of others. And thanks to piglets for finding the time for an occasional comment.

As for today, the funeral of my good friend Tina. I remember sitting in All Bar One with her just last May shortly after she had received the dread news about her innocuous aches. I knew that they'd do her in before too long. But the funeral was great - life affirming and a celebration. Well done Lucy and Simon.

Right, happy weekend people of the Blip, I'm aff with my rod, flies and bottle of Bowmore to go and get two days older. Pip pip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.