SOUTH BY MIDWEST

By southbymidwest

A delicate balance...

I spent the morning outside trying to shoot a huge branch that had broken off from a tree in my backyard. It fell from about 60 feet up... even though it probably 5 inches in diameter, it fell with enough force to impale itself into the ground. It was pretty cool, if a little surreal. I probably took 20 shots with various apertures, trying to figure out what depth of field I wanted to use. But I don't have a nice telephoto yet so my options were fairly limited. After more obsessing I started to get anxious about my research (or lack there of) so I gave up, figuring I would just pick the best one after seeing them blown up on my monitor.

When I came back inside, I saw the carnage from last nights attempt at research. Ugh. I have about a week to finish my dissertation and I am not feeling terribly creative. Apparently I rely on a delicate balance of uppers and downers... everything from caffeinated and decaffeinated sodas, 5-hour energy, trance music (or sometimes bluegrass Metallica!), ibuprofen, and sweet, sweet beer. I figured I should document this craziness so I can (hopefully) look back and laugh someday. This simple snap turned out to be far more interesting than my portfolio of giant stick pictures...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.