Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Rhododendron Buds

This bush forms part of the George Forrest Memorial Bed in Maxwell Park. Forrest (1873-1932) was a plant and seed hunter who brought unique species from the Himalayas to Scotland. He introduced many of these plants to the gardens at Pollok House owned by Sir John Stirling Maxwell.

Sir John gifted this 21 acre site in 1889 to the people of Pollokshields, as a place for recreation. There used to be an ironwork bandstand and the Hamilton Memorial Fountain made of Carrara marble. Sadly neither exist today.

Tomorrow will be my 400th Blip entry. I know I don't get a red balloon, or a mention, but it is still another hundred milestone for me. Not sure what I will do for this one. Ate my last Walnut Whip this evening, and haven't seen Goretex in ages for Tablet replenishment. We plan to go and see A, as it is his birthday tomorrow. He is currently a "One Blip Wonder" and I am hoping he will perhaps start to post a few more entries on this fab site.

SF






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.